Archive for April 27th, 2010

h1

Me as a Dolphin

April 27, 2010

I may have bored you all with stories about my life. After all, this is a personal blog, right? It’s not surprising to find that almost everything in this post is about me or connected to my life at least. But I am changing that for today. Well, I’m not completely changing it because I still want to talk about me for the first few paragraphs.

As a girl, I have always loved dogs. There is just something about them that warms my heart. They are like humble little servants who love you in every way another human could never do so (and that is loving you without any question or complaint). I grew up having pets for playmates because I was a surprisingly shy person when I was younger.

However, if somebody asks me what kind of animal would I most likely compare myself to, my answer wouldn’t be a dog. I compare myself to a dolphin. I guess I realized that somewhere between being a career worker and a writer. Dolphins are people pleasers. Whenever they feel like there’s a ship that’s traveling in the ocean, they show up and do their acrobatic tricks. I don’t do that, but I like to please people. I like it when people are happy because I did something for them.

What about you? To what animal can you compare yourself to? What is it about that animal that is similar to your personality?