h1

Does This Count as Too Much Information?

October 2, 2010

According to Wikipedia, Dysmenorrhea is a gynecological medical condition that is characterized by severe uterine pain during menstruation.

Most women experience only minor pains; however, there is a good number of women who suffer from pain so sever as to limit normal activities or even require medication.

I happen to be one of that good number. I am still fortunate enough to not require medication for the pain (although there have been instances when I take pain relievers). But my normal day to day activities are affected by the pain.

Dysmenorrhea can feature different kinds of pain. It could be sharp, throbbing, dull, nauseating, burning, or shooting pain. I have been through all that. Dysmenorrhea may precede menstruation or may accompany it. I’ve had it both ways as well.

If dysmenhorrea is caused by an underlying disease, disorder, or abnormality within or outside the uterus, that’s called secondary dysmenorrhea. However, if none of those is detected, then it’s what’s called primary dysmennorhea.

I don’t know why I suffer from this. When I first started getting my periods, I did not have dysmenorrhea. The pain started when I was somewhere in high school and got worse and worse as years went by. My friends often tell me that I should see a doctor. I know I should. I just don’t like the idea of going to a doctor. One day, I know, I may have to face my dreaded trip to the doctor. It may even be anytime soon.

14 comments

  1. very interesting discussion…


  2. http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/10/october-birthday-wishes-and-awards.html

    awards,
    pass to 1 to 10 friends..
    Happy Weekend!
    xxx

    are you ready for Sunday news flash post?
    Good Luck!


  3. Women should be given awards for their trouble. Monthly torture is simply inhumane :|.

    You should really see a doctor. I rarely get dysme – only when I’m really stressed. You might want to check if you get them every period.


  4. http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/10/poetry-potluck-beaches-and-mountains.html
    Our poetry potluck is NOW open, welcome linking in..

    you can share up to 3 poems,

    thanks for the support.


  5. Thank God I don’t get ANY pain at ALL 🙂
    But I pity you cause my friend goes through the same pain.
    So I kinda know what it feels like.
    Do check out my blog too 🙂


  6. its a terrible experience. i am luckier of most of the ladies but i have seen some friends going through hell.


  7. Ishabelle I don’t think it constitutes as too much information. I do however believe that you should see a doctor before your next period. You said you don’t like the idea of seeing a doctor. Health is important and I think seeing a doctor is better than seeing a mortician. There might be something serious going on. Take care!


  8. The sooner you visit a doctor, the better. Best. Take care of yourself.


  9. Shubho bijoyadashami (Happy Vijayadashami)! May the blessings of the Goddess shower down on you and your loved ones forever.


  10. well lets just say i know enough from you to prepare for myself to be a woman in my next life- (if ever there is a next life!) and so how have you been ishabelle?


  11. Great blog, Ishabelle! I guess you shoud see the WordPress Pack to make it more attractive for your readers!


  12. PREFERING A DOCTOR….
    http://isrough.wordpress.com


  13. Happy deepawali! May light, happiness and wealth shower down on your world and stay.


  14. Great post! I will return to this site



Leave a Reply

