h1

Praying for Haiti

January 17, 2010

2009 has been full of natural disasters. Before the year ended, I was kind of hoping that things would be better this year. However, I think we may all be in for a more bumpy ride this year.

It’s only the first month of the year, and already, we are rocked by a devastating earthquake. Our brothers and sisters in Haiti are now going through so much tragedy. If only I had the riches of Gates and Trump, I’d give as much as I can to help them. If only I had the means and the opportunity, I’d gladly fly to Haiti and help in any way I can. I really wish that I could give back even half of what I have been given. But what can I do? I am just one small person a thousand miles away.

I can only console myself with the knowledge that I can still help. I can pray for them. I can pray that, one day,  all the hurts that they are feeling right now will heal. I also pray that they will never lose their Faith in God.

5 comments

  1. Indeed, the sufferings of the Haitian people have effected everyone–and those incapable of making a difference are, at least, learning to be more grateful for what they have.

    Just remember that–even though you don’t have the riches of Trump and Gates, and the power of Obama and Gloria Arroyo–that even the smallest acts of charity can help. For example, donating small sums of money (whatever extra you have), or even educating the public of Haiti’s unfortunate situation, all of that can bring a smile to those who are suffering.

    Thanks for this post, it reminded me that there is always goodness in people, even if they have no means to show it.

    Goodbye,
    Rania Abuisnaineh


    • Rania….

      thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment…. havent read something new from your blogs lately…. 🙂 hope to read more from you again… 🙂


      • Ishabelle–

        Yes, I haven’t been posting much lately; I’m taking a week break (sorry–I’ll try not to disappoint you again)! I’ve spent much of my time this week shopping and preparing for school (a new semester begins in 2 more days), but I have a few posts saved up for this upcoming week. I’m planning on changing my theme actually, so there’s a little vote going on on my page. Check it out and lemme know what you think 🙂 Keep your posts coming–I REAALLLY enjoyed today’s about the Haitian suffering. It brought a smile to my face…

        Rania Abuisnaineh


  2. beautiful story,
    your kindness is appreciated,
    best wishes for those suffering,
    Happy Sunday.


    • thanks, jingle…. 🙂 i’ll notify you as soon as I post a poem, so I can join your circle… 🙂



Leave a Reply

